Linux Australia News

Stay informed on what has been happening in the community and access Linux Australia meeting minutes.

  • Community Recognition Awards

    During 2009 certificates were presented to three members of the Australian Free and Open Source Software community in recognition of their outstanding contribution to Linux Australia and

    The 2009 Community Recognition Award recipients are

    Janet Hawtin:
    For designing the Linux Australia and Open Source Industry Australia logos and commitment to community development.

  • 2009 Linux Australia Council Election Open

    The Linux Australia Council Election 2009 is now open and members can nominate for all positions.

  • Tasmania's siren song draws world's top software brains.

    For the first time the Australian state of Tasmania will play host to one of the world's largest and foremost software conferences,, when developers from around the world converge on Hobart to meet, learn and work together to advance their projects.

    The Sandy Bay campus of the University of Tasmania, will be host to in Hobart, Tasmania from January 19 to 24, 2009.

  • Bidding for 2010 Open!

    With 2009 in Hobart rapidly approaching, believe it or not but it's time to look at where 2010 will be. It's a lot of work to put on a (just ask anybody who's done it) and it's in common agreement that it takes "more than a year", which is why we're talking about 2010 now.

  • - Hobart Conference 2009 Opens Call for Papers has announced the opening of the call for papers on Friday 4th July 2008, giving the open source software community the chance to present at one of the world's premier technical conferences.

    Hobart TAS, Australia-- (4th July 2008) ---- The call for papers will remain open for a month, after which the best papers will be selected by an expert panel.

  • New Committee Elected

    The elections for the Linux Australia Committee of 2008 have been completed and the results were announced yesterday at the AGM. Thankyou to all those who stood.

    The new Committee is as follows:

    • President: Stewart Smith
    • Vice President: Steve Walsh
    • Treasurer: Anthony Towns
    • Secretary: Terry Dawson
    • Ordinary Committee Members:
      • Melissa Draper
      • Paul Schulz
      • James Turnbull

    A great deal of thanks goes to our departing members: